The 20th Annual Alexander A. Goldfarb Student Exhibition and Awards

This year marks the 20th anniversary of the student exhibition named after Hartford Art School trustee and supporter, Alexander Goldfarb.  Mr. Goldfarb endowed this exhibition and awards to further the careers of the young artists he had come to know and admire while on the board of the Hartford Art School.

All students of the University of Hartford are invited to submit up to two works of art in any medium to be entered into the jury process.  A visiting juror selected by the Joseloff Gallery then chooses the top 60-80 pieces to be shown in the exhibition.  From that narrowed pool, the juror then selects to the two pieces that he finds to be the finest works in the exhibition and awards them the $1,000 Purchase Prizes.

Our juror for this year is Jack Tom, local designer, college professor, and owner of Jack Tom Design.  You can find out more about Mr. Tom by visiting his website at

The Goldfarb Exhibition will open on Wednesday February 13th with a reception and awards presentation from 4:30 to 6:30pm in the Joseloff Gallery.  At approximately 5pm, the two Purchase Prize awards will be given.  Please join us!


PostDec Panel Discussion

Better late than never!  The pictures are finally in from the PostDec panel discussion that was held on December 6, 2007 in the Koopman Commons at the Hartford Art School.

It was standing room-only as PostDec artists Joyce Kozloff, Jesse Lambert, Renee Petropoulos, Suzanne McClelland, and Robert Kushner discussed art, art-making, and the evolution of Pattern and Decoration.

Gallery Director Zina Davis moderated the panel as the five artists discussed ideas and answered questions from the audience, then proceeded to the Joseloff Gallery or a brief reception.

Thank you to everyone who attended the discussion and those who donated their services to make the evening a success.  Thank you to Sam Ekwutzel for recording the discussion, and to Roger Castonguay for taking the lovely photographs.  An a big thank you to all of the artists for attending and participating in such an interesting and engaging panel discussion.